Sudden Blindness

This topic contains 3 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Karen 7 months, 3 weeks ago.

• Author

Karen

Hello, I am very new to social media and blog sites…but I am so heartbroken I need some advice and guidance.
    My 1 1/2 yr old rescue dog Ted (I’ve had him since May) had a 3 day history of illness that resulted in total blindness within 3 days. They think, now, that it was meningitis or some autoimmune condition. He had malaise, a fever, body aches to the point he would cry when touched and squeal in his sleep. I went to 4 vets in 5 days. He is now on high-dose prednisone along with eye drops every 4 hours ATC and antibiotics. If anything his eye site has deteriorated to total blindness. All blood cultures came up negative for all bacteria, fungal infections etc…All I do is cry. He lived to run and play with other dogs in the park. He gets around the house with no problem (amazingly) but needs constant commands when outside. Will he ever run again and play with other dogs? He doesn’t follow me around the house anymore. He just goes to his crate or hides in corners of the house. I feel like my dog has died and now I have a dog I take care of who doesn’t have any happiness. Is there anyone who can offer some good advice?

Anonymous

First, take a big breath of relief:)
    Everything is going to be just fine. My boy lost both eyes this summer after 3 months of trying to save 1 eye. He is 11 years old. A scratch in one eye led up to losing both.
    I was just like you. I was devasted and heartbroken for him. Then after a while, I realized he was feeding off of my sad energy. I changed my tune. I encouraged him, was joyful, didn’t treat him any different than before. That changed everything. See, our dogs feel what we feel. When we’re sad, they comfort us. When we’re sick, they stay by our side, etc.